PROJECTS

Green hydrogen is to be produced in East Frisia and distributed at local filling stations.

© H2NORD

H2 NORTH

A regional hydrogen economy based on locally generated green electricity is being created in East Frisia. To this end, H2NORD was founded in April 2021 to produce green hydrogen in an electrolysis plant with up to 50 megawatts of power. The hydrogen produced will initially be distributed via three filling stations in East Frisia and will be available for mobility and industry within a radius of about 100 kilometres in and around Emden.

H2NORD wants to produce the green hydrogen directly on site with the help of renewable energies. Part of the renewable electricity will be supplied by Energiepark Emden using solar energy. Its founding partners GP JOULE, Terravent and the Brons Group, as Energiepark Emden, are also the founding partners of the hydrogen company H2NORD. In addition, the Norwegian energy company STATKRAFT will supply another part of the renewable electricity.

Another shareholder of H2NORD is the filling station and mineral oil trading company SCORE, which has a network of 48 filling stations in the northwest of Lower Saxony. The first H2NORD distribution point for green hydrogen will be the SCORE filling station in Emden - the Georgsheil and Aurich locations will follow. In the future, the green hydrogen is to be offered at best at many more locations in East Frisia to supply heavy goods traffic, local public transport (ÖPNV), municipal waste collection vehicles and fuel cell cars.

Spedition Weets, Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel and Rederei AG "EMS" also joined H2NORD as shareholders last year. Both Spedition Weets and Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel would like to convert their truck fleet to climate-neutral propulsion with green hydrogen in the long term. The "EMS" AG is even already working on converting the drive in the ferry traffic to Borkum and Helgoland to hydrogen.

More about the project

 

About H2NORD

The H2NORD was founded in Emden in April 2021. In addition to the founding company Energiepark Emden, consisting of Terravent, GP JOULE and the Brons Group, SCORE, Spedition Weets, Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel and the AG "EMS" are also involved in the company. The goal of H2NORD is to build a regenerative, regional hydrogen economy. It will produce green hydrogen in an electrolysis plant with a capacity of up to 50 megawatts and distribute it initially via three SCORE filling stations in East Frisia. Only regional green electricity will be used for the electrolysis.

Partner

Based in Leer in East Frisia, the Terravent Investments has been active in the energy, real estate and shipping sectors for over 20 years. The focus is on renewable energies, especially large-scale photovoltaic projects on open spaces, wind farms (approx. one gigawatt of capacity has already been projected) and projects around the production and marketing of green hydrogen. 

© Terravent Investments

Founded in 2009, the company GP JOULE is a system provider for integrated energy solutions from sun, wind and biomass as well as a partner at the supply level for electricity, heat, hydrogen and electric mobility. The medium-sized group of companies employs around 500 people worldwide.

© GP JOULE

The Brons Group was founded in Emden in 1826 and is active in trading, port handling, shipping and maritime services.

© Brons Group

The SCORE Petrol Stations and Mineral Oil Trading Ltd. is a company in the filling station middle class that is preparing for the time after fossil fuels with a sustainable orientation. At SCORE filling stations, eFuels and electricity are offered in addition to hydrogen. SCORE is also active in the real estate sector, where it focuses on energy-autonomous residential development and climate-friendly commercial construction projects (e.g. with the use of PV).

© SCORE

The Spedition Weets is a medium-sized logistics company that offers a broad portfolio of services. The offer includes classic truck tarpaulin transport, transport for overseas container logistics by road, rail and inland waterways. In addition, there are services such as JIT/JIS deliveries, warehousing and customs clearance.

© Spedition Weets

The Shipping company AG EMS is a service company with a focus on shipping as well as hotels and restaurants. In the shipping sector, the shipping company ensures the island supply of Borkum and Helgoland with environmentally friendly ferries and catamarans and also offers tourists excursion trips on the North Sea.

© AG EMS

The Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel GmbH & Co. KG has been active in the agricultural sector for several generations. The family business has specialised in the trade of grain, feed, seeds and farm inputs, but also in the transport and service sector. The company is active from western East Frisia to the Weser-Ems region.

© Folkerts Landhandel

PROJEKTE

   

Grüner Wasserstoff soll im Ostfriesland hergestellt und in lokalen Tankstellen vertrieben werden.

© H2NORD

H2 NORD

In Ostfriesland entsteht eine regionale Wasserstoffwirtschaft auf Basis von lokal erzeugtem Ökostrom. Hierzu wurde im April 2021 die H2NORD gegründet, die in einer Elektrolyseanlage mit bis zu 50 Megawatt Leistung grünen Wasserstoff erzeugen soll. Der produzierte Wasserstoff soll zunächst über drei Tankstellen in Ostfriesland vertrieben werden und in einem Umkreis von etwa 100 Kilometern in und um Emden für die Mobilität und Industrie verfügbar sein.

Die H2NORD will den grünen Wasserstoff direkt vor Ort mithilfe von erneuerbaren Energien erzeugen. Einen Teil des erneuerbaren Stroms wird der Energiepark Emden mittels Solarenergie liefern. Deren Gründungsgesellschafter GP JOULE, Terravent und die Brons Group sind als Energiepark Emden gleichzeitig die Gründungsgesellschafter der Wasserstoffgesellschaft H2NORD. Außerdem wird das norwegische Energieunternehmen STATKRAFT einen weiteren Teil des erneuerbaren Stroms liefern.

Ein weiterer Gesellschafter der H2NORD ist die Tankstellen- und Mineralölhandelsgesellschaft SCORE, welche über ein Netz von 48 Tankstellen im Nordwesten Niedersachsens verfügt. Die erste H2NORD-Vertriebsstelle des grünen Wasserstoffs wird die Tankstelle der SCORE in Emden sein – die Standorte Georgsheil und Aurich folgen. Der grüne Wasserstoff soll zukünftig bestenfalls an vielen weiteren Standorten in Ostfriesland angeboten werden, um den Schwerlastverkehr, den öffentlichen Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV), die kommunalen Abfallsammelfahrzeuge sowie Brennstoffzellen-PKW zu versorgen.

Auch die Spedition Weets, Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel und die Rederei AG „EMS“ sind der H2NORD im letzten Jahr als Gesellschafter beigetreten. Sowohl die Spedition Weets als auch Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel möchten ihre LKW-Flotte langfristig auf den klimaneutralen Antrieb mit grünem Wasserstoff umstellen. Die AG „EMS“ arbeitet sogar bereits daran, den Antrieb im Fährverkehr nach Borkum und Helgoland auf Wasserstoff umzustellen.

Mehr zu dem Projekt

 

Über H2NORD

Die H2NORD wurde im April 2021 in Emden gegründet. Neben der Gründungsgesellschaft Energiepark Emden, bestehend aus Terravent, GP JOULE und der Brons Group, sind auch SCORE, die Spedition Weets, Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel und die AG „EMS“ an der Gesellschaft beteiligt. Ziel der H2NORD ist der Aufbau einer regenerativen, regionalen Wasserstoffwirtschaft. Sie wird in einer Elektrolyseanlage mit einer Leistung von bis zu 50 Megawatt grünen Wasserstoff erzeugen und diesen zunächst über drei SCORE Tankstellen in Ostfriesland vertreiben. Für die Elektrolyse wird ausschließlich regionaler Grünstrom genutzt.

Partner

Die im ostfriesischen Leer ansässige Terravent Investments ist seit über 20 Jahren in den Bereichen Energie, Immobilien und Schifffahrt tätig. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf erneuerbaren Energien, insbesondere auf großen Photovoltaikprojekten auf Freiflächen, Windparks (ca. ein Gigawatt Leistung wurde bereits projektiert) und Projekten rund um die Erzeugung und Vermarktung von grünem Wasserstoff. 

© Terravent Investments

Das im Jahr 2009 gegründete Unternehmen GP JOULE ist ein System-Anbieter für integrierte Energielösungen aus Sonne, Wind und Biomasse sowie ein Partner auf Versorgungsebene für Strom, Wärme, Wasserstoff sowie Elektro-Mobilität. Die mittelständische Unternehmensgruppe beschäftigt  weltweit rund 350 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. 

© GP JOULE

Die Brons Gruppe wurde bereits im Jahr 1826 in Emden gegründet und ist im Bereich Handel, Hafenumschlag, Schifffahrt und maritime Dienstleistungen aktiv.

© Brons Gruppe

Die SCORE-Tankstellen und Mineralölhandels-GmbH ist ein Unternehmen im Tankstellenmittelstand, das sich mit einer nachhaltigen Ausrichtung auf die Zeit nach fossilen Energieträgern vorbereitet. An SCORE-Tankstellen werden neben Wasserstoff auch eFuels und Strom angeboten. SCORE ist auch im Immobilienbereich tätig, wo auf energieautarke Wohnbebauung und klimafreundliche gewerbliche Bauprojekte (z.B. mit dem Einsatz von PV) gesetzt wird.

© SCORE

Die Spedition Weets ist ein mittelständisches Logistikunternehmen, das ein breites Dienstleistungsportfolio anbietet. Das Angebot umfasst die klassischen LKW-Planentransporte, Transport für Übersee-Containerlogistik auf der Straße, der Schiene und den Binnenwasserstraßen. Dazu kommen Dienstleistungen wie JIT/JIS-Belieferungen, Warehousing und Verzollung.

© Spedition Weets

Die Reederei AG EMS ist ein Dienstleistungsunternehmen mit den Schwerpunkten Schifffahrt sowie Hotellerie und Gastronomie. Im Bereich der Schifffahrt sichert die Reederei mit umweltfreundlichen Fähren und Katamaranen die Inselversorgung von Borkum und Helgoland und bietet Touristen darüber hinaus Ausflugsfahrten auf der Nordsee an.

© AG EMS

Die Hinrich Folkerts Landhandel GmbH & Co. KG ist seit mehreren Generationen im Bereich der Landwirtschaft tätig. Das Familienunternehmen hat sich auf den Handel mit Getreide, Futtermitteln, Saatgut und Betriebsmitteln, aber auch auf den Transport- und Dienstleistungssektor spezialisiert. Das Unternehmen ist vom westlichen Ostfriesland bis zum Weser-Ems-Gebiet aktiv.

© Folkerts Landhandel