PROJECTS

©MUSource: ©MU

From left to right: Dr. Dr. Magnus Buhlert from the Nds. Ministry for the Environment, Energy, Building and Climate Protection, Minister Olas Lies, Prof. Dr. Ludger Frerichs from TU Braunschweig, Dennis Boller from XPANSE Powertrain, Jürgen Akkermann, CFO Clean Logistics SE and Dirk Graszt, CEO Clean Logistics SE. ©MU

BETH2REX - Innovative vehicle concept

In the energy transition, it is important to electrify all processes and, where this is not possible, to switch to green hydrogen. Electrifying heavy-duty transport is still an enormous challenge due to the high weight and also the air resistance. The "Battery Electric Truck with H2 Range-Extender" (BETH2REX) project therefore aims to implement a completely new electric vehicle concept. The aim is to build five truck prototypes with battery-electric drive and fuel cell range extender.

For this project, the companies Clean Logistics Technology GmbH and XPANSE Powertrain GmbH as well as the Technical University of Braunschweig today received funding decisions totaling around 7.6 million euros from Lower Saxony's Energy Minister Olaf Lies.

Energy Minister Olaf Lies: "We urgently need to reduce CO2 emissions in transport in order to achieve our climate targets. To do this, we need not only concepts in the passenger car sector, but also alternative drive systems for all vehicle classes - including freight transport. There is currently no manufacturer on the market offering medium-duty trucks with fuel cell electric drive as a production vehicle. But that's where we absolutely have to go. However, we don't need individual solutions or conversions, but a universally practicable concept. I'm pleased that a project from Lower Saxony is making headway here and that we can support it with state funding."

In a first step, the BETH2REX project will develop up to five prototypes suitable for registration with a scalable hydrogen fuel cell system as a range extender, which will then be tested practically in fleet trials. This type of vehicle can be used around the clock in urban and regional distribution transport thanks to its performance, zero-emission drive and, in particular, its low noise emissions. In addition, the project is intended to serve as a basis for series production in order to close the supply gap of zero-emission freight transport for medium-duty trucks as quickly as possible with vehicles that are ready for series production.

The total funding of around 7.6 million euros is divided into three funding decisions: XPANSE Powertrain will receive around 5.5 million euros, Clean Logistics Technology around 1.6 million euros and TU Braunschweig around 500,000 euros.

PROJEKTE

©MUQuelle: ©MU

V.l.n.r.: Dr. Dr. Magnus Buhlert vom Nds. Ministerium für Umwelt, Energie, Bauen und Klimaschutz,  Minister Olas Lies, Prof. Dr. Ludger Frerichs von der TU Braunschweig, Dennis Boller von der XPANSE Powertrain, Jürgen Akkermann, CFO Clean Logistics SE und Dirk Graszt, CEO Clean Logistics SE. ©MU

BETH2REX – Neuartiges Fahrzeugkonzept

In der Energiewende gilt es alle Prozesse zu elektrifizieren und wo dies nicht möglich ist, auf grünen Wasserstoff umzusteigen. Den Schwerlastverkehr zu elektrifizieren, ist aufgrund des hohen Gewichts und auch des Luftwiderstands nach wie vor eine enorme Herausforderung. Im Projekt „Battery Electric Truck with H2 Range-Extender“ (BETH2REX) soll deshalb ein völlig neues, elektrischen Fahrzeugkonzept umgesetzt werden. Ziel ist es fünf LKW-Prototypen mit batterie-elektrischem Antrieb und Brennstoffzellen-Range-Extender zu bauen.

Für dieses Vorhaben bekamen die Unternehmen Clean Logistics Technology GmbH und XPANSE Powertrain GmbH sowie die Technische Universität Braunschweig heute  Förderbescheide über insgesamt rund 7,6 Millionen Euro vom niedersächsischen Energieminister Olaf Lies.

Energieminister Olaf Lies: „Wir müssen dringend den CO2-Ausstoß im Verkehr senken, um unsere Klimaziele zu erreichen. Dazu brauchen wir nicht nur Konzepte im PKW-Bereich, sondern alternative Antriebe für alle Fahrzeugklassen – so auch im Güterverkehr. Es gibt derzeit keinen Hersteller auf dem Markt, der mittelschwere LKW mit brennstoffzellenelektrischem Antrieb als Serienfahrzeug anbietet. Aber da müssen wir unbedingt hin. Wir brauchen jedoch keine Einzellösungen oder Umbauten, sondern ein universell praktikables Konzept. Ich freue mich, dass ein Projekt aus Niedersachsen hier vorangeht und dass wir es mit Landesmitteln unterstützen können.“

Das Projekt BETH2REX soll im ersten Schritt bis zu fünf zulassungsfähige Prototypen mit einem skalierbaren Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellensystem als Range-Extender entwickeln, die dann im Flottenversuch praktisch erprobt werden. Dieser Fahrzeugtyp kann durch seine Leistungsfähigkeit, den emissionsfreien Antrieb und insbesondere seine niedrigen Geräuschemissionen im urbanen und regionalen Verteilerverkehr rund um die Uhr eingesetzt werden. Außerdem soll das Projekt als Grundlage für eine Serienfertigung dienen, um die Angebotslücke des emissionsfreien Güterverkehrs bei mittelschweren LKW schnellstmöglich mit serienreifen Fahrzeugen zu schließen.

Die Gesamtförderung von rund 7,6 Millionen Euro teilt sich in drei Förderbescheide auf: XPANSE Powertrain erhält rund 5,5 Millionen Euro, Clean Logistics Technology rund 1,6 Millionen Euro und die TU Braunschweig circa 500.000 Euro.